No. 2 University of California-Santa Cruz Slugs Past No. 10 University of Oregon 7-5 in National Collegiate Club Championship First Round

Matt Beadle shoots over Kyle Smith
Matt Beadle shoots over Kyle Smith

2011 National Collegiate Club Championship Schedule & Results

ATLANTA, Ga. -- Kyle Smith (Sr., Long Beach, Calif.) and Jacob Mitchell (Jr., Holly Bluff, Miss.) both scored twice to share Player of the Game honors and lead the No. 2-ranked Banana Slugs of the University of California-Santa Cruz to a 7-5 victory over No. 10 University of Oregon in the first round of the National Collegiate Club Championship at Georgia Tech University.

Due to the win, Sierra Pacific Division champion UC-Santa Cruz will now face No. 1-ranked and Pacific Coast Division champion the University of Southern California at 9:00 a.m. on Saturday, November 12 in the second round.  Oregon will be back in action later this evening at 9:50 p.m. versus Southeast Division runner-up Emory University.

The game was close throughout as the Banana Slugs needed to outscore the Ducks 2-1 in the fourth period to hold on for the victory.

UC-Santa Cruz struck first in the game as Mitchell converted on a man-up opportunity with 5:34 left in the first period for a 1-0 lead.  Oregon responded at 5:19 with a natural goal from the hand of Matt Beadle (Fr., Pleasanton, Ore.), but the Slugs slid back into the lead prior to the end of the period thanks to a man-up tally by Scott Mielke (Sr., Palo Alto, Calif.) at the 2:12 mark to carry a 2-1 advantage through seven minutes of play.

The lead grew to 3-1 to open the third period as Corbin Clarke (Sr., Irvine, Calif.) zipped down the center and deposited the ball into the back of the cage at 6:43.  Oregon countered prior to the halftime horn with a marker by Aaron Bishow (Jr., Eugene, Ore.) at 3:04 to make it a one goal game at 3-2 with 14 minutes left to play.

Smith (4:57) and Mitchell (4:30) added to the lead to begin the third period, but the Ducks would not go down silently courtesy goals by Bishow and Zachary Yensen (Sr., Portland, Ore.) at 4:14 and 1:39, respectively, to set the scoreboard at 5-4 in favor of UC-Santa Cruz entering the fourth period.

Needing some insurance to close out Oregon and advance to a date with USC, the Banana Slugs received five-meter penalty shots by Smith (3:06) and Ethan Pascual (So., Northridge, Calif.) (2:00) to take a 7-4 lead. 

The margin was too much for Oregon to overcome as the Ducks could only manage a five-meter penalty shot by Omar Hagrass (Jr., Cairo, Egypt) with 15 seconds on the clock for the 7-5 final.

In cage, Michael Galate (Jr., Malibu, Calif.) and Blair Macdougall (Sr., Fresno, Calif.) combined for seven saves while splitting time in cage to key the Slugs' victory.  Christian Broom (Fr., Redwood City, Calif.) was the hard-luck loser, making seven saves.

1 2 3 4 -- Final
No. 2 University of California-Santa Cruz
-- 7
No. 10 University of Oregon
-- 5

Oregon Goals: Aaron Bishow (2); Omar Hargrass; Zachary Yensen; Matt Beadle

UCSC Goals: Kyle Smith (2); Jacob Mitchell (2); Corbin Clarke; Ethan Pascual; Scott Mielke

Saves: Oregon -  Christian Broom (7) ; UCSC - Michael Galate (4, 14 minutes), Blair MacDougall (3, 14 minutes)

Exclusions: Oregon - 10 ; UCSC - 8

Advantage Opportunities: Oregon - 1-for-8 ; UCSC - 4-for-10

Sprints: UCSC - 1-for-4 (1st) ; Oregon - 3-for-4 (2nd, 3rd, 4th)

Oregon's Jacob Warkov attempts to defend UC-Santa Cruz's Corbin Clarke

View: Mobile | Desktop